Gluten Free, Vegetarian Delight: Garden Lites Roasted Vegetable Soufflé

by ashley

by Ashley Morgan

I love how the lights in the Publix freezer section turn on and off automatically as you stroll through the aisles. I know it’s simple mechanics and motion sensors, but for some reason it always fascinates me that someone even thought to invent it. As I was making my way through the section, a light turned on just a little late, illuminating the Garden Lites box like a beacon. Despite knowing that most boxes portray perfect specimens of their products on the cover, and containing something that doesn’t even resemble it inside, something about the freshness of the colors made me have to try it. Not to mention that I love soufflés, especially vegetable soufflés. And I was not disappointed.

While the product inside may not be quite as beautiful as the one on the cover, it tastes as if I had just whipped up the ingredients myself from scratch. Carrots, onion, spinach, broccoli, egg whites, potato, zucchini, red peppers…fresh, real ingredients in a list taken verbatim from the back of the box.  And at just 140 calories, 1 gram of fat and 350 grams of sodium, it truly is as healthy as it sounds.

While it is not vegan, due to it being a real egg white soufflé, it is gluten free and full of healthy, natural vitamins and minerals. One soufflé contains a whopping 250% of the daily value of vitamin A, which is an A+ in my book.

2 Comments to “Gluten Free, Vegetarian Delight: Garden Lites Roasted Vegetable Soufflé”

  1. Wow that was strange. I just wrote an incredibly long comment but after I clicked submit my comment didn’t show up. Grrrr… well I’m not writing all that over
    again. Anyway, just wanted to say superb blog!

    Like

Leave a comment