Archive for February 12th, 2015

February 12, 2015

Hello Fresh Meal #1 “Caramelized Shallot Risotto”

by jem614

I just received the Hello Fresh box yesterday and busted it open to make dinner last night. Ermergerd!!  I had to stop myself from eating the entire meal. I felt like the best chef in the world, I wanted to invite people over so I could force feed them my dinner.  I never knew you could eat two whole shallots in one serving and not be overwhelmed by the onion-y taste.  This was also the first time I baked them first before adding them to my meal.

The Hello Fresh box was on special for dirt cheap on Groupon a couple of weeks ago plus I had a 20% discount so I paid almost nothing for three whole meals for 2 people.  I would have paid much more at the grocery store.  It was worth every penny… and then some.  I can’t wait to make meal #2 and #3.

Meal delivery services are so much fun, if they are good, they can turn you into an expert chef in one meal.  I love that every single step is laid out for you and all you need to supply is the salt, pepper & oil (*butter as well this time).  Hello Fresh is definitely going to be ordered again in my home.

For more information on the Risotto, please go here:  https://www.hellofresh.com/recipe/week/current/