Date, Fig, Granola Energy Bars

by jem614

Have you ever made something and were so excited about it that you left off the main ingredient?  This site should be “follies of a veggie” because I do that quite often.  Thankfully, in this case, it wasn’t a bad result.

I saw someone post about this amazing nutrition bar recipe on their twitter feed a while back but because I am not a “paid” subscriber, I could not access the full site.  So, I took it upon myself to make up my own recipe and I have to say, though I left out one main ingredient, it still tasted delicious.

Handful of pitted dates
Handful of dried figs
1/4 cup flour (I used tapioca flour to make it GF)
Handful of Dried Apricots
1/4 cup oatmeal (*my missing ingredient)
small portion bag chopped walnuts
small portion bag chopped macadamia
small portion bag slivered almonds
Nutmeg
Cinnamon (to taste)
Honey or agave
Chia seeds (sprinkle them in)
Flax seeds (sprinkled)
and lest we not forget chocolate: Raw cacao nibs

All this goes into a large pot and toasted (try toasting the nuts first and then adding in the rest).  These aren’t exact measurements because as you probably have already surmised, I make this up on the go.

I didn’t bake them but you should probably do so to set them better.  Lay them out flat on a cookie sheet after getting it out of the pot.  Mine was enough for a small cookie sheet.

Enjoy- I can’t wait to go home and have another one (just remember these are high calorie so small bars are ideal if you’re needing to watch #’s).

They turned out delicious and nutty.  You could add more oatmeal to make the nuts less dense and it would probably be just as delicious.

Leave a Reply

