Baklava to Die For by Natalie

by jem614

I have a great friend who is of Moroccan and Israeli descent.  I met her through an online moms group and we’ve been friends ever since, I love her (in the purest sense of course).  She’s not only taught me the value of being an incredible host, she also taught me how to make baklava, my absolute favorite dessert.

Baklava Piece

This past weekend I invited myself over for a culinary lesson on how to make this delicate dessert and was pleasantly surprised to find out that though it is a lengthy process, it’s relatively easy.  I’m not going to give away the entire recipe because I know she’s going to start her own bakery or online blog one day and this will be in it but I’ll give you a teaser.  She looked up a recipe online but changed it to make it amazing.  There is one key ingredient that I will let you find for yourself, I won’t list it:

Here are the main ingredients:
Honey
Phyllo Dough (one package should be plenty)
Cinnamon or Pumpkin Pie Spice does amazing
Zest of lemon
Butter
Tons of Walnuts (amazing- I always thought it was pecans)
Vanilla

We first started the sauce as it needs to cool for about an hour in the fridge so it’s a little thicker.  Then, we went about layering the phyllo: 2 pieces at a time, buttering them.  After each 8 layers, we would add the nuts (nuts should be toasted for max taste and then blended to a crumble consistency).  Remember:  DO NOT ADD THE SAUCE UNTIL AFTER IT’S BAKED!  Before baking, cut diagonal/diamond pieces from the top layer only.  This way, the layers underneath also get a good crisp.

We baked it for about 30-40 minutes allowing it to get nice and brown.  Next, allow it to cool for a few minutes and finish cutting it so the syrup will be able to reach all the lower extremities.  Pour the syrup and and enjoy this decadent dessert.

We took half a pan home and it was done within two days.  We now cannot leave the house because we’re too fat but at least we’re happy!

Thank you to Natalie Abernathy for such an amazing recipe!

One Trackback to “Baklava to Die For by Natalie”

Leave a Reply

