Palak Paneer in a Box

by jem614

KOI1This packet reminds me of the military rations my parents somehow got a hold of the summer before 8th grade.  We were living out of our cars (don’t ask, my parents were rolling stones and probably wanted to re-live the 60’s), eating military rations and taking showers in the school pool bathrooms.  It was the 80s or almost 90s and things were different.  We were also living in Alaska…. but I digress.

I picked up this package in Whole Foods last week and I was very skeptical that I could enjoy Palak Paneer out of a box.  I enjoy Amy’s Paneer but wanted to try something different.  I have to admit, I actually liked this box’d version better than Amy’s!  Can you imagine a box tasting good?  Especially one that has an expiration date of 2014 and has no preservatives?  This is like space food- it seems like it could last forever.  The only difference is that you don’t have to add water.  It’s all done and ready, you just cut open the package and pour into a pot, cook and serve!  How easy is that?

I enjoyed my Palak Paneer with some lebanese bread that we bought from The Village Mediterranean a couple of weeks ago.  We store it in the freezer so it stays fresh.

For more information go to http://www.kitchensofindia.com/

Here is a picture of the completed product.  Don’t let it’s “baby-food” like appearance deceive you, it’s extremely tasty (I might venture to say it’s tastier than some restaurants!).

KOI2

KOI3

Leave a Reply

