Jessica’s Baby Shower – Cute Vegetarian Appetizer Ideas

by ashley

I can’t believe that Jessica is 33 weeks pregnant. So many things have changed since the beginning of Veg On The Run. We’ve ran a ½ marathon together, we’ve done a bodybuilding challenge, I lost 18 pounds, we’ve done parties, events…so many things, it’s hard to believe they all fit into such a short time span.

When Jessica took me out to dinner in February to tell me the good news, it was the first time in a long time that I cried tears of joy. I’m so happy for her and her husband, she has touched my heart the most of anyone I’ve met here in Miami. So, when it came time to plan her baby shower, I knew that I was going to do my best to make it a special occasion. One of Jessica’s best friends, Nermari, was my sidekick in putting all the festivities together. I love to cook, but I’m not the best decorator. Nermari is a decorating queen. Jessica has an entire board on the Veg On The Run Pinterest page dedicated to the new baby, so Nermari suggested we start there. We scoured the page for hours trying to best match what she likes. We ended up with a Tiffany blue themed party with a splash of orange for contrast. I knew Jessica wanted a pink cake with Tiffany blue frosting. After calling around to several Publix locations, I found that while they wouldn’t do a pink cake, they can do red velvet with blue frosting. They translated my weak request for “a pink cake with Tiffany Blue icing, no flowers and little dots on it”, into a work of art. And it was at least half the price an independent bakery would have charged.

I was in charge of the vegetarian appetizers, choosing to make mini cheddar herb quiches, phyllo mushroom tarts with feta cheese and a watermelon “cornucopia” fruit salad. All were very simple to make (recipes to follow next week), yet looked elegant at the party. We also had tons of candy, used as both edibles and decorations, chocolate cupcakes and several other treats that others brought with them. It was definitely a party to remember, and special thanks to Nermari for teaching me how to put a baby shower together. I wouldn’t have been able to do it without you!

Congratulations Jessica on your first baby, a wonderful little boy. May he be everything you always wished for and more.

Leave a Reply

