Litelife Vegetarian Meals- Move Over Lean Cuisine!

by jem614

Since finding out I have gestational diabetes, I have been trying to reduce certain things in my diet in order to keep myself and baby healthy.  I met with my nutritional counselor this week who told me that since my numbers were so low, I would most likely be able to control my diabetes with diet.  What a relief that was- but it also made me realize how much I don’t pay attention to what I eat- as long as my calories are under a certain amount and I’m eating veggies and grains- I was happy.

Our bodies don’t operate like that, or at least mine doesn’t.  I have been put on a carb-focused diet where it’s not necessarily about the sugars (apparently the sugars are included in the carbs).  Of course, you don’t want to be slamming back ice cream and candy bars all day but that’s obvious.  The counselor explained that I needed to stretch out my carb-eating evenly throughout the day.

Here is the plan:

Breakfast- no milk or fruit or anything with sugar.  I can have 30 grams of carbohydrates (2 Carb servings) with some type of protein (non-starchy veggies are welcome all day long).  If I can’t read a food label, I basically count each piece of carb as 1.  For example- one English muffin is actually 2 carbs servings because you count the top piece and the bottom.
Snack- 15 grams of Carbohydrates (1 carb serving).  I have found that this is one of the hardest to do.  Did you know that 1 piece of Bubble Yum is 6 carbs?  That’s crazy!  However, I found some nature valley granola bars that are under 15 grams and very happy!
Lunch (3 Carb Servings)-Favorite meal because you can have 45 grams for lunch.  So, this is where Litelife comes in!  Amy’s meals, though delicious and mostly healthy, often have more than 40 grams of carbs in each meal which leaves me feeling a little too close to my goal for comfort.  Litelife, a new brand in my grocery store, only had 31grams of carbs for the Tuscan Chick’n meal.  Obviously I’m not going to eat this for every meal but thank goodness for things like this!  Now, if I want to eat a little more, I can still eat another 14 grams of carbohydrates (or not).  The ingredients are mostly whole- the only negative is that it’s not organic but I know we can’t have everything.  It really felt like I was reheating something that I had made the night before – I could see large chunks of bell pepper, spinach, mushrooms, barley and the chik’n was actually good.
Afternoon Snack- 15 grams (1 Carb serving) – this is a good time to add in some celery and peanut butter or 1/2 a banana (yes, just a half).
Dinner- another 30-45 grams of carbohydrates (2-3 Carb Servings)- this is the hardest part of the day for me because I usually cook for myself and if I can’t read a label, I have a hard time telling how many carbohydrates.  Thankfully myfitnesspal.com has a way of checking carbs and calories so I use that.
After dinner snack- 15 grams (1 Carb serving)- did someone say popcorn?  If you make it yourself in the pan and don’t put tons of butter on it, it can be a nice 15 gram snack.

So there it is, I think it’s a great plan for those that have diabetes and those that don’t.  You don’t realize how much you’re eating till you start reading labels!

Check out the Litelife website at www.litelife.com.  Oh! and we’re going to be trying their Portobello Burger patties this weekend at the game- we’ll let you know how they turn out!

 

 

 

One Trackback to “Litelife Vegetarian Meals- Move Over Lean Cuisine!”

Leave a Reply

