Kale Krunch

by jem614

By Jessica Michael

image

Kaia Foods was generous enough to send us an “alternative” version of their Kale chips that is made by their sister company, Alive & Radiant (I believe they will be merging their co’s).

First of all, the Kale chips look like actual Kale pieces.  I opened the bag as soon as I got home because I wanted to see how it stacked up to the previous Kaia chips.  I was pleasantly surprised: they had sent us bags of the Quite Cheesy chips that are made with cashew cheese, nutritional yeast, red bell peppers and a few other key ingredients.    The chips had a “nacho” feel because the red bell pepper gave it a Jalapeno taste.

The ultimate test was when my husband, who hates most things vegan, asked to try them and said they were good!  He actually asked me to leave a bag of the chips at home so he could eat them.  I don’t know if I have a veggie convert on my hands but he is now a convert to the Kale chips.

The only thing I think may be a little overwhelming is the heaviness of the chips.  They are not light and crispy (though light and crispy may cause the chips to be crushed in packaging so I can understand why) like home-made might be, they are quite thick and loaded with flavor.

However, with only about 220 calories in 2.2 oz  bag of chips, this could be a great alternative to greasy potato chips!

Check them out at http://shop.kaiafoods.com/ for more information on their company and some other options.

Leave a Reply

