Evol Frozen Vegan and Vegetarian Cuisine

by ashley

by Ashley Morgan

A brand new Publix opened up just a few blocks from my house a few weeks ago. It may sound a bit pathetic, but that was a huge excitement for me. Our area is full of large buildings and the other two Publixs in the area were a nightmare to just to walk through the aisles, much less actually wait in a check-out line. Plus, a shiny, new grocery store always inspires a slightly slower waltz through the aisles, which helps me find new brands. This time I found Evol, a brand out of Denver, Colorado that originally started as a burrito stand at the bottom of a mountain trail.

Evol’s packaging first caught my eye because of it’s bold design, but I kept reading after seeing the stamp “New & Improved Compostable Bowl” on the upper corner. Their vegetarian and vegan options are slim, but I picked up a vegan veggie fajita burrito and a vegetarian bean & cheese enchilada to try. It’s great that they also use corn tortillas in their enchiladas, making them gluten free. The burrito is made from a wheat tortilla and does contain gluten.

Upon first glance when opening the package to the enchilada, I thought it looked a bit messy. Like a hodgepodge of corn kernels, tomatoes and beans. I couldn’t see any cheese. I took the plastic wrapper off the bowl and cooked it on high in the microwave for four minutes, as the package indicates. Once done, I immediately noticed that the bowl looked a bit dry. The edges were microwaved to a crisp. I cut into the center and took a look around the inside, unfortunately finding it to be dry, as well. The good points I noticed as that all vegetables were distinguishable and seemed to be fresh. The corn has a great char on it and tastes great. Eating through it, I still couldn’t find much moisture and none of the cheese. The rice was mixed around in small portions. The corn tortilla was very authentic and tasted great, except for the hard edges, which is tough to cook in a microwave. I probably wouldn’t eat this again, at $4.99 it is a bit expensive and just didn’t have enough sauce or flavor overall. I still prefer Amy’s for organic, vegetarian frozen Mexican fare.

The vegan veggie fajita burrito didn’t do much better. Visually it looks great, even when cutting into the center. Again the vegetables are discernable and seem to be really fresh. Picking the peppers and corn kernels out was quite enjoyable, however the burrito as a whole was just lacking in flavor. It did have a much better consistency than the bowl, with more moisture. I was just disappointed overall with the flavor of both of these products. I love their idea and hope they continue improving their flavors.

Leave a Reply

