Jessica’s Vegan Bodybuilding Challenge Week 1

by jem614

By Jessica Michael

By now most of you will have read our post on Facebook and Twitter that we’re doing the Bodybuilding program for this month to see if it will make a difference in our weight and health.  Of course, if we see results we will continue.

This week has been up and down but thankfully I have not had any problem sticking to the eating regimen (yet).  The exercise part has been really tough- sore muscles, overwhelming cardio, it’s not a complete picnic but I’m feeling better about myself already.  If you can believe it, I can actually feel my tummy muscles again (and I’ve been working out for only 5 days).

Last night I had a total meltdown in the gym in front of my husband and three other people.  He was trying to get me to do lunges while holding weights and I was so sore that I just couldn’t do it.  I felt like I was disappointing myself, my husband; the evil failure genie was whispering in my ear so I argued with my lovely husband and then just walked out.  I was so embarrassed but just couldn’t do the lunges (and my husband thought he was helping me by telling me it was all mental).

Today I’m going to do what I should have done on Tuesday: Rest.  My head keeps telling me that I should be working out 24-7 but starting a new routine it’s probably better to work your way into it, especially with extremely sore muscles.  Even resting is terrifying, I feel like I’m going to get fat by not working out.  Weight training is so traumatizing!

That’s why I’m so happy that I’ve found all these great resources like Bodybuilding.com and veganbodybuilding.com.  They help me to remember that change isn’t always the easiest thing but that I’m not alone.  Plus, I have Ashley blazing the trail with me!  I’m so proud of her for doing this vegan for the past few days, it’s hard enough for me as a vegetarian but as a flexitarian, it requires more sacrifice and discipline.

Discipline is the hardest part.  I’ve done a month of Insanity and never saw results (though they do say over and over again that the second month is where you see the changes happen), I’ve even done two half marathons and never lost a pound.

One thing that I think was missing from all of these: weight training.  I finally get it- without building muscle, there is nothing there to “eat” the fat, it’s just heart pumping.  Another difference between me and those people that were really overweight then started training for a marathon: I don’t gorge on foods.  I eat fairly healthy though of course there are things I could change.  I wasn’t gaining weight, I was just stagnant.

I’m not saying that this is going to be the miracle cure: my goal till February 10th is to lose only 5 lbs.  I’m not sure how this is going to work out because I’ll be gaining muscle mass as well but will keep you updated on the progress.  If I didn’t lose a pound but could fit into a size 4 and you could see my muscles without flexing, I would be a happy camper.

Here’s to change!

Find the following resources that we’re using here (and as always, get a doctor’s permission before starting any health regimen):

http://www.bodybuilding.com/

http://www.veganbodybuilding.com

3 Comments to “Jessica’s Vegan Bodybuilding Challenge Week 1”

  1. Starting a weight training routine can be very intimidating. I remember my first few weeks I was so sore some days it was a challenge just to get through a day of work. It is easy to start thinking you have to be working out every day, but rest days are important. Listen to your muscles, if you don’t give them rest they are not going to recover and grow and you put yourself at risk for injury.

    Like

    • I totally relate! Thanks for the advice, I have been trying to do just 4-5 days a week at the beginning and then work my way up. Ashley and I try to incorporate one day a week together doing something fun like spinning or boxing to break up the monotony and it does help. I’m really excited for results.

      Like

  2. rocks. We just loved this site.
    Bodybuilding

    Like

Leave a Reply

