The Offensive “Whole Wheat” Banana Bread

by jem614

By Jessica Michael

My throat is sore from coughing, my chest feels like it’s been wheezing for days.  My eyes are red and itchy.  It’s not a cold, it’s a wheat allergy.  No matter how much I might want to eat right, do right, be right, if we are allergic to something, we are just allergic.  I have been fighting this wheat allergy since childhood, you would have thought that I would have grown out of it but no, just like the dimples on my bottom, it’s fiercely loyal.

A friend of mine has a child who is extremely allergic to certain foods, they have to carry food with them wherever they go. I have to say that she is super mom for doing this.   If we can do such amazing things for others, why do we have a hard time doing it for ourselves?

This year, after reading an article in Runners World on Kathy Keilitz, who was a runner but couldn’t lose weight, I contacted her to see what she did to finally drop those pounds.  She told me that she had gone to a nutritionist, worked on her eating and it helped her.  I then hired her for six months to help me change my thinking about food and my food habits (she’s now a certified health coach).  I have to say that she’s part of the reason I’m eating mostly vegan now and have dropped a few pounds.  She gently reminded me week after week that I needed to nourish myself.  She even advised me to cut out the wheat but as you can tell, I didn’t listen.  I’m listening now Kathy!

Here is the offending Whole Wheat Sugar Free (no sugar at all except on the icing) cream cheese frosted banana bread, I enjoyed it while I was still breathing normally:

To find out more about Kathy Keilitz’s nutrition program please find her on facebook.  She does have a new page she’s creating but I don’t believe it’s active yet:

http://www.facebook.com/pages/Nutrition-Now-with-Kathy/228315903886371

Here is her Runner’s World Article:

http://www.runnersworld.com/mobile/article/0,8172,s6-243-297–13789-3-1X2X3X4-5,00.html

2 Comments to “The Offensive “Whole Wheat” Banana Bread”

  1. Hi Jess! My FB and website are now up and running!!!!!

    http://www.nutritionnowwithkathy.com

    I love seeing your posts here. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

