Vegan Friday: Raspberry & Choco Disco Cake Balls

by jem614

By Jessica Michael

Hallelujah, I have found the magical ingredient to making cake- Ener G egg replacement.  My cake baked up light and fluffy and pretty right before I tore it apart to make the cake balls.

I used a simple cake recipe to bake the cake (with vegan ingredients like EarthBalance butter and Almond Milk as well as the Ener G egg replacer) and used the recipe on the side of the powdered sugar to make the frosting.

Frosting: 

I wanted to add a little “kick” to the cake so I used a powdered sugar frosting and included some raspberries for color and taste.  You can see just a little bit here of the pink dots inside the cake.

Ingredients-

2 c. powdered sugar
1/2 c. butter
1 1/2 Tbsp milk
1/4 c. raspberries

Instructions:

Once you have baked the cake (whatever flavor you want, be creative!), while it’s still hot out of the oven, scrape it out of the pan and into a bowl.  Then add 1/2 the frosting to the mix and stir.

When you’ve mixed it and all the cake has been saturated with the frosting, start making the balls.  You will need to either put them in the fridge for a while or freeze them for a bit so they don’t fall apart when you coat them with the frosting to make them pretty.  My frosting was a bit thick, I used bakers chocolate, melted it down and then combined it with the rest of the frosting I had.  I don’t recommend doing that as mine was a bit too thick and I had run out of powdered sugar so I couldn’t correct it. If you want chocolate frosting, it may be better just to do the frosting mix above and adding cocoa powder instead (minus the raspberries).  Then it would be nice and smooth and pretty for frosting.

Make it your own and send us your pictures of your pretty cake balls!

Leave a Reply

