Imperfect Veganism

by jem614

By Jessica Michael

I’ve been a vegetarian for a while but trying to go mostly vegan is a bit newer for me.  That being said, baking has become quite a challenge.  As a vegetarian I had no qualms about using eggs in my meals and therefore my cakes and baking goods turned out pretty and fluffy.

I’m sure many of you are already experienced in the art of vegan baking but it just hasn’t happened that easily for me.  My last few attempts at making things have kind of been a flop.  Anything having to substitute eggs becomes a sloppy mess.  My corndogs as you may remember, though amazing, were not pretty.

I thought by being open an honest with our readers, it would inspire you to either not be discouraged by not making the perfect dish every time, or get some tips from my mistakes.

Browned Bananas

Chocolate Sauce

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The sad part of this mess is that the cake TASTED amazing, the caramel-ed bananas were to die for and the chocolate sauce was incredible.

But the cake fell apart like it was a crumbly mess, even with the chia seeds.  Because there was no eggs, there was nothing to hold it together.  Ashley has been telling me to try an egg substitute for a while and I have been against it because I wanted it “natural”.  I have used chia seeds, curdled coconut milk (with vinegar)- this works for small things like cupcakes; tofu, the list is becoming endless.  I have a feeling I’ll have to break down and just buy the egg substitute, or all my baking could end up looking like this:

My Beautiful Cake (that was sarcastic)

It’s on a foil sheet because it was meant to be a two layer cake with the caramel-ed bananas in the middle.  I couldn’t get it out of the pan, much less into two layers.

So, for vegan Friday, I’m going to break down and make a cake with egg substitute.  Be on the lookout…..

 

4 Comments to “Imperfect Veganism”

  1. You can use ground flax seeds as a substitute for eggs in recipes. 1 tablespoon of ground flax seeds soaked in 3 tablespoon of warm water is equal to one egg. 🙂 So if you need 3 eggs you would put 3 tablespoons of ground flax seeds in 9 tablespoons of warm water and you let it soak for a couple of minutes while you prepare your wet and dry ingredients. I hope this helps for your recipes!

    Like

  2. I’m surprised that chia isn’t working for you! I’ve only just discovered it and I think it ‘holds’ better than commercial egg replacer, and has nicer properties than flax.

    How are you using it? Do you pre-soak the seeds? I use 1 teaspoon chia seeds to 3 tablespoons water for each egg being replaced, stir it, and let sit for a good 10 minutes or more before putting it in a recipe.

    Nice of you to be honest and chronicle your challenges. I don’t agree with people who just shout to the world, “Being vegan is easy!” when it’s not always true. Vegan isn’t always easy, as your and mine baked goods disasters can testify, but it’s worthwhile!

    About my best vegan food disaster: I tried to make home-made vegan butter, and being at a stage of my life where I hadn’t yet heard of nutritional yeast, I substituted REAL yeast, mixed it with the rest of the ingredients, and let it sit in the fridge like the recipe stated. A few hours later when I went to check on it, a bubbly grey mass had overflowed the tupperware container and oozed down every shelf of the refrigerator!

    So, in my opinion, your cake doesn’t seem THAT disastrous!
    🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

