Vegan African Lentil Soup

by jem614

By Jessica Michael


Two Christmas’s ago, my husband and I traveled up to Orlando to visit “cousins” (in the Sudanese world, everyone is an aunt, an uncle or a cousin) of my husband’s father.  Our first time meeting them and they opened up their home to us like we were truly their family, it was an amazing visit.  Of course, my husband was in heaven, they had food fit for a king every single night.  Though he didn’t grow up in Sudan, he grew up with the cuisine and talks about it like he’s describing the most important delicacy on the planet.

One thing I had to duplicate was the lentil soup, the flavor was so refreshing and fulfilling.  I’m not going to give you the exact measurements as I really don’t know what they are- I add a dash of this, a squeeze of that…..

Make it to your taste:

  • Red Lentils
  • Onions
  • Cumin
  • Garlic
  • Vegetable Bouillon
  • Cilantro
  • Lime
  • Salt
  • Pepper
Get ready to make the most refreshing lentils you have ever made!
Fill the pot with your lentils, start them boiling.  Add your cube of bouillon and a clove or so of garlic.  Once the lentils are almost done, dice some onions in (I like them to be slightly crispy).  Maybe 1/4 or 1/2 an onion depending on how much lentils you made.  A few shakes of Cumin for flavor, a dash of salt, a dash of pepper, some fresh cilantro (I put about three small sprigs in because I love the fresh flavor).  Let that simmer for a few minutes to soak in the flavor.  Right before you’re about to serve, squeeze a healthy dose of lime into the pot, stir and serve.  Bon appetit or “Bil hana wi shifa!” (as they say in Arabic).
3 Responses to “Vegan African Lentil Soup”

  1. I can’t wait to make this! Thanks so much!

    Like

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

