A Taste of Thai Café: Miami Lakes, FL

by ashley

by Ashley Morgan

Today I told Jessica I had a craving for something different, so we thought and thought, finally remembering one of our favorite little places right in the heart of Miami Lakes. Outside the restaurant is a charming street filled with jewelry shops, imported clothing and several boutiques and restaurants. Within the restaurant, warm lighting and décor are accented by Bombay-style ceiling fans. The staff is always extremely friendly, as well as the owners (whom I’ve never met, but have seen on the local South Florida show “Check, please! South Florida” starring chef Michelle Bernstein).

Wanting something a little more satisfying than veggie sushi, I opted for the vegetable fried rice and cup of miso soup. I’d never had the fried rice here, but knowing how much I love Vietnamese style fried rice, I was hoping the Thai version would be just as tasty. My first course of miso soup was wonderful. The miso soup here is freshly made, which is a nice change from several “Americanized” sushi, Thai and Japanese restaurants around, and the flavor profile of the tofu, nori and fresh broth was amazing. My main course, the vegetable fried rice, was not quite as tasty as I expected, but still good. It would have been nice to have more fresh vegetables, fried onions and other seasonings. There was a ton of rice! But for the price and location, this is still one of my favorite restaurants lining Main Street and for a $10 lunch of this quality, we will certainly be back.

3 Comments to “A Taste of Thai Café: Miami Lakes, FL”

  1. I love “Check, Please” even if it’s mostly non-veg, it’s stil a fun show!
    Just found your blog on tag surfer and, as a vegetarian in South Florida, I’m loving it and will be back to read.

    Like

  2. Thanks, Valerie. I’ve loved Michelle Bernstein since coming to Miami, and while most episodes don’t have anything specifically Veg-friendly, they have pointed me in the right direction many times. I’m eternally grateful for them showing me “Sublime”!

    Like

Leave a Reply

