Garden Lites has done it again – and with TWO vegan products!

by ashley

by Ashley Morgan

I recently won Garden Lites’ blog contest, in which I won a month’s supply of Garden Lites products. I was really excited, as not only am I a tremendous fan of their Roasted Vegetable Soufflé, I have been looking forward to trying some of their other products that are not available for purchase at Publix in South Florida.

I was most looking forward to trying their Butternut Squash Soufflé, which I had seen on their website, but lo and behold I was blown away by their Zucchini Marinara. I’ve heard a lot about zucchini pasta and have been saving up to buy a vegetable spiralizer myself,  so when I saw this product in my prize I couldn’t wait to try it. Not only is it vegan, which I’m leaning more and more towards lately, but it is just like eating pasta marinara without the heavy caloric content. Fresh, crunchy zucchini noodles are enveloped in an amazing sweet marinara sauce that is absolutely divine. I can’t imagine homemade tasting better than this. Now all I need is for my local Publix to carry it! So if anyone is a Publix executive or knows one, please let them know!

The Butternut Squash Soufflé also certainly did not disappoint. It is heavier than the Roasted Vegetable that I like so much, but that was to be expected. I think this one is something I could share equally as a side dish rather than eating an entire one next time. But the rich flavor is what makes it so delicious, so I’m more than happy to try and stuff it down all by myself =)

Overall, I’m even more impressed (if that is possible) with Garden Lites after trying their full line of products, my absolute favorites still being the Roasted Vegetable Soufflé, Zucchini Marinara (VEGAN), Zucchini Portabella (VEGAN) and the Butternut Squash Soufflé. Thank you Garden Lites for this wonderful, and unexpected, prize! You certainly have made a huge fan out of me!

4 Comments to “Garden Lites has done it again – and with TWO vegan products!”

  1. The souffle actually contains egg whites, which would make it vegetarian, not vegan!

    Like

    • Hi veggiefoodlover! I know, I used to love their souffles, but after trying to go vegan I cannot enjoy them. This article actually refers to their vegan products though, as they do indeed have two vegan products: portobello and zucchini “pastas”. They are great, completely vegan and gluten free!

      Like

  2. Hi There! As a means of introduction, I am a 40-something year old and have been following the GF lifestyle out of necessity for a number of years now. I love to cook and am writing a cookbook as a gift for my nearly-grown children and extended family many of whom are GF and all of whom I cook for quite often =) I was delighted to see the Garden Lites products in the freezer section of our local Whole Foods and thought it would be nice to have something in the freezer and on hand for a quick option on busy days. The Zucchini Soufflé quickly gained my attention and a place in my grocery cart. I don’t own a microwave [by choice–personal conviction] and so opted to heat in the oven per the package instructions. To my great disappointment, I found the soufflé inedible =( Even though zucchini is the first ingredient listed, this product contained very very little zucchini–NOTHING at all like the photo that appears on the front of the package. Most of the soufflé was bread/filler-like, a bit too sweet, under-seasoned, and the few bites I ate left my mouth with an odd and indistinguishable aftertaste. I considered returning it to Whole Foods knowing they support their customers in this way, but then decided to chalk it up to experience–one of which I will not repeat. Thank you for allowing me to share my thoughts. Warm regards, Cyndi

    Like

    • Hi Cyndi,

      I’m sorry to hear you had a bad experience with Garden Lites. I’ve never tried cooking them in the oven, so that might be the difference. We definitely welcome your opinion, especially one that is so thoughtfully written.

      Hope to “see” you around the blog some more!

      Ashley

      Like

Leave a Reply

