Vega Smoothie in a Healthmaster Blender

by jem614

Me with Brendan at the beginning of my vegetarian journey

By Jessica Michael

I talk about Vega (Brendan Brazier’s Health company) shakes all the time and decided to post some pictures today.
Vega Whole Food Health Optimizer has the most amazing ingredients; Maca, hemp seeds, antioxidants, etc. the list goes on and on.  While the large tub is somewhat pricey – between $65 and $75 depending on which health food store you shop at- it lasts for an entire month as well as being about 99% organic. These nutrient packed tubs come in four flavors: Berry, Chocolate, Vanilla Chai and Natural.  It does say “14” servings (of two scoops) on the label but after speaking with Brendan at an event he assured me that one scoop is perfectly fine for a person of my height who exercises about 3-4 days a week.  However, if you’re a very active person or a larger man, two scoops is probably better for you.
(For an after-exercise drink, Brendan recommended coconut water to replace your electrolytes)

My smoothies are usually made with frozen berries, bananas, either Kale or Spinach :

I also add unsweetened coconut milk or unsweetened almond milk.  Fruit has all the sweetness you need already packed in, plus the Vega shake has a natural sweetener already inside.

My most important purchase that I’ve ever made (for my health) was the Healthmaster.  I had been reading “Thrive” by Brendan Brazier, who recommends the smoothies and soups etc. and I realized I didn’t have any way of making them.

It was the infomercial that sucked me in and all the sudden I was spending $250 on a blender!  But that blender has literally saved my life.  I know people rave about the Vitamix, and truthfully I’ve never seen one but at almost $400, I think that the Healthmaster makes a great buy for only $250.  It makes soups, smoothies, ice creams and even juices things if you own a strainer; I’ve heard that you can even make some breads in this thing.  It’s worth the investment and I use it almost daily.   Healthmaster doesn’t have to pay me to rave about them, I am a true convert!

Both of these get a 5 Carrot rating for being life-changing.

For more information on Vega and Brendan Brazier (who helped me to become a vegetarian) go to http://myvega.com/. This site also provides a community of vegans and vegetarians who are striving for health and they are great resources!

For more information on the Healthmaster go to http://www.myhealthmaster.com/ which also has some great resources like recipes and reviews.

One Trackback to “Vega Smoothie in a Healthmaster Blender”

Leave a Reply

