Sublime Restaurant, Ft. Lauderdale- Every Bite Was Sublime

by jem614

By Jessica Michael

In February Ashley took me to a restaurant called Sublime.  It’s a great friend who researches to find a totally vegan restaurant for you when they aren’t even vegetarian.  The concept of being able to order and eat anything on the menu overwhelmed me.

Complimentary Appetizer

At the end of our meal they brought us “to share” a Chocolate Nirvana Ganache cake that could make your heart melt.

The owner of the restaurant stopped by to greet us then and to wish me a happy birthday.  Tonight, as we walked in she recognized me.  Five months later!  I’m no

Alec Baldwin (who recently tweeted about his dinner at Sublime) but I felt like a celebrity.

In my dinner party was my husband, who straight out refuses to eat anything starting with Tofu, and my mother who is a weekday vegetarian.  After much hesitation from the man of our group, my husband finally decided on the barbeque pizza with Daiya cheese (a colossal tribute to Daiya that he never realized it wasn’t real cheese) .  He ate the entire pizza like it was his last meal: thin crust, just enough BBQ sauce and a bit of onions.

My mother ate the Portabello Stack with Purple! sweet potatoes.  I have to get my hands on those someday, I have never seen purple sweet potatoes.

Portobello Stack With Purple SweetPotatoes

Southern Dining With A Vegan Twist

I chose the “chikin”, mashed potatoes and green beans which were fantastic.  I think my husband actually thought the green beans would taste different in a vegan restaurant.  Nope, they’re still green beans but not slathered in unhealthy butter, they’re still crisp and tasty like they should be.  The mashed potatoes weren’t boxed potatoes either, you could tell someone had taken the time to peel and mash them.  It was a southern entree with a healthy twist.

The presentation of the food is beautiful, the staff are understanding of all appetites, and the owners actually care about their guests.

And… lest we forget about that sublime chocolate cake, we ordered that as well.  The doubtful meat eater gave it his seal of approval.

Sublime Chocolate Cake

Prices are reasonable, about $11-$22 for each entree.  Vegan, organic and natural fare.

This is a five carrot meal all around.

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
http://www.sublimerestaurant. com  1431 N. Federal Hwy., Ft Lauderdale
2 Responses to “Sublime Restaurant, Ft. Lauderdale- Every Bite Was Sublime”

  1. I love this place! I’m sad that I wasn’t able to go – this is definitely going to be our go-to upscale vegan place!

    Like

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

