Healthy Detox Snack: Roasted Brussels Sprouts

by ashley

by Ashley Morgan

Day 2 and 3 of our Detox Diet (click here to see our Detox Confessions page) have so far been super easy with the help of advance planning and some creative snack ideas. Yesterday I decided that I needed some veggies to snack on, but I didn’t want the normal carrot sticks or celery, I wanted something with more taste and nutrition. So I picked up a few bags of Brussels sprouts and decided I would roast them, and then keep them around in the refrigerator for snacks.

The recipe is super simple, fresh and healthy.

Ingredients

1 lb Brussels sprouts

1 tbsp kosher salt

1 tbsp garlic powder

Olive oil spray, to taste

Preheat oven to 425 degrees and move the top rack to the highest position.  Spray to coat a baking sheet with olive oil spray, set aside. In a large bowl mix the sprouts, salt, garlic powder and a little olive oil spray until the sprouts are evenly coated. Pour onto the baking sheet and place on top rack in the oven. Bake 10-15 minutes, shaking the rack every five minutes to evenly roast. They are done once evenly browned.

Serves 4-6.

These are great as snacks or a side dish. For the past two days, I’ve kept a freezer bag full of them next to me for munching on my allotted snack times. While they are certainly best fresh from the oven, they are still good the next day.

Enjoy!

3 Responses to “Healthy Detox Snack: Roasted Brussels Sprouts”

  1. I have a friend who makes these…I haven’t had the nerve to try them yet…my experience with Brussels sprouts is not pleasant…lol…but maybe the roasting gives them a different taste?

    Like

    • You’ll have to try them! I’ve always roasted mine, so I can’t vouch for other cooking methods, but I really love these when they’re hot out of the oven. They have a nice crispiness to them, which combined with the salt and garlic, to me, is delicious 🙂

      Thanks for stopping by!

      Like

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

