My Biggest Weakness- Italy Today

by jem614

by Jessica Michael

If you were to ask me today what my absolute favorite meal would be, I would have to say the Greek Salad Pizza at Italy Today in Miami Lakes.  It’s like Kryptonite to Superman, I seriously get weak in the knees when I think about this pizza.

image

I’m sure it’s not the least caloric food in the world but just look at that healthy greek salad on top of the whole wheat crust, sprinkled with olive oil and crumbles of Mozzarella.  Is your mouth watering yet?  How about calamata olives and onions and diced tomatoes thrown in?  On top of that, if you go for the lunch special it’s only $7.50 including a drink (be aware that this is only for sit-in, if you order take out they charge you $10 for just the pizza, not including the drink). This pizza is so simple you could probably make it vegan at home with some sprouted grain tortillas (Ash’s suggestion) and vegan cheeze (especially since I’m TRYING to go dairy free).
The only negative of Italy Today is that the service is not always the friendliest, they don’t always greet you with a smile but the food is still worth it.  Our waitress today was actually really sweet, a couple of months ago it was a gentlemen that could have cared less we were in his section.  He obviously didn’t care about tips and I made sure mine wasn’t memorable (in a good way anyway).
This restaurant is right in the heart of Main Street in Miami Lakes, for a view of their menu go to http://southflorida.menupages.com/restaurants/italy-today/.
Overall, I should say they get 4 carrots because of the touch and go service but the pizza is so amazing, I’m basing it on the pizza alone.  5 Carrots!

Leave a Reply

